Wammer
Wammer
Nov 19, 2011
West Lothian
AKA
Adam
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
I bought a Burson Soloist SL over 5 years ago now.

I don't use it very much, but I must admit that it has never really sounded that loud.

I have to almost turn it up to the max on the volume pot before it makes me HD650 headphones approaching something like loud.

However, I have never had anything to benchmark it against, so I thought that maybe it was just a bit underpowered.

I sold it on eBay at the weekend and sent it down to the buyer.

The buyer seems to know his headphones and amps and he thinks that it doesn't go loud enough and there is something wrong with it.  I have had to accept it as a return.

I am not an electrician, so I don't understand why this is happening.

Why would an amplifier work, but underperform in terms of loudness?  Is it worth getting someone to look at it?  Can anyone recommend someone?

Thanks

Lawrence001

Mega Wammer
Wammer
Jul 21, 2015
London
AKA
Lawrence
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Reviews seem to imply it should have plenty of power, it's quoted as 2.5w into 16 ohms but I can't find the 300 ohm figure. It should still play loud though at high volume.

I take it you've tried both gain settings?  Some Burson amps have removable op amps but I'm not sure this one does.  Did you buy it new?

Reactions: Adam D

StingRay

Legend Wammer
Wammer
Apr 27, 2016
Suffolk coast, UK
AKA
Ray
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
HD650 have a bit of a rep for being difficult to drive. What Headphones is the buyer using? 

Is it possible to try some different headphones?

Reactions: Adam D

Adam D

Wammer
Wammer
Nov 19, 2011
West Lothian
AKA
Adam
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Reviews seem to imply it should have plenty of power, it's quoted as 2.5w into 16 ohms but I can't find the 300 ohm figure. It should still play loud though at high volume.

I take it you've tried both gain settings?  Some Burson amps have removable op amps but I'm not sure this one does.  Did you buy it new?