Linn Owners

LS50 Meta vs. Linn Akurate 242

Davescello

New Wammer
Jan 8, 2022
  1. For ~$4K, what's the better all-around performer/investment (no subwoofer) for a 450 sq ft apartment: KEF LS50 Meta + Schiitt Freya & Vidar [$3700 new shipped] OR Linn Akurate 242 + Atoll IN50 [$2800 used local pickup]? Bookshelves vs. tower, new vs. used, popular vs. niche

• I like to listen to music standing a third of the time, so a forgiving sweet spot is essential. I play at a conservative volume with speakers about 9 feet from my ears, but sometimes I'll let it rip. I want something that will perform well for classical (symphonies and solo), jazz, rock, house, and hip-hop that will be a good investment.
    • I live in the U.S., Linn/Atoll aren't huge here. I care what's popular because niche products are harder to resell (though I'd be getting them at a big discount already being used), and to me less "safe". I'm a newbie to hifi. Want to stick with a system that's more proven.
    • I can repurpose the KEFs for surround and add another power amp - clear upgrade path, no need to sell anything. But pricier now. Linn system I feel like I'd have to sell to upgrade. I hate selling (RIP Reverb guitar still listed...) 'cause it takes so long to move product, and shipping takes a big bite.
    • I hate doing research/auditions...huge time suck (RIP my afternoons for the past four months). I want something that will sound good for 5-7 years at least, and perform well in a larger space once I move to a house
  2. Amps: what's preferable at my price range. Linn's own amps are probably ideal but way out of my price range. I planned to get Schiitt Freya+ & Vidar for that tube warmth, but is my money better spent on a cheap passive pre (basically just a volume control) so I can buy more watts? https://www.superbestaudiofriends.org/index.php?threads/passive-schiit-shootout-saga-vs-freya-vs-sys.7611/ 

• Integrated
  • Passive pre + multiple power amps in mono blocks