LMS Installation Help Needed on Raspberry Pi Zero

AndrewPotter

New Wammer
Mar 29, 2023
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Dear all,

I have a Pi Zero and aim to install LMS in order to use the BBC Sounds app with my Squeezebox Touch.

I've installed the 'full' pi OS, having bought an SD card with NOOBS installed. I downloaded the LMS package and ran it, but nothing obvious has appeared, so I don't know if it worked or not 😱

Is there an Idiot's guide anywhere for installation and setup?

If it makes any difference to anything, I don't have a laptop or pc, so unless it can be done on the Pi, I have no means of 'burning' anything onto an SD card.

I'm a software developer, so do have some IT skills, but this is all new to me!

Thanks,
Andrew

bencat

Amplifier Destroyer
Wammer Plus
Feb 6, 2010
Liverpool
AKA
Andrew
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Firstly to run LMS you have to have the full server running either on the Pi Zero or on another computer . I know that is a way using say that you can load LMS on but there are settings adjustments you need to do and I have never been able to do this . You may have more skills so just search Google for liaising LMS on our zero and a YouTube video will come up . The other way is to get an sd card flashed with Picoreplayer then load from LMS . If you really can not get access to bring able to flash a card PM me and I will do one for you and post it .

Man in a van

Wammer
Wammer
Sep 28, 2012
Staffordshire
AKA
Ronnie
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Dear all,

I have a Pi Zero and aim to install LMS in order to use the BBC Sounds app with my Squeezebox Touch.

I've installed the 'full' pi OS, having bought an SD card with NOOBS installed. I downloaded the LMS package and ran it, but nothing obvious has appeared, so I don't know if it worked or not 😱

Is there an Idiot's guide anywhere for installation and setup?