aswillman

HD Plex H1 build

Super Wammer

I thought I'd share my thoughts about my new build music player and using a HD Plex chassis. I confess right from the start that I am by no means an expert, I just enjoy fiddling around with electronic bits!

This build is based around the HD Plex H1 chassis - http://www.hd-plex.com/hdplex-h1-series/

It costs 132 Euros and I used it to replace my Streacom Evo 8 I had built previously as I don't need an optical drive. It has a lower profile and is brushed aluminium (as opposed to blast sanded). Both of these are quality products, being well built & machined with all the screw holes matching & working! However, whilst Streacom are available from a variety of resellers quickly, HD Plex are not so I had to wait 2 months for mine. Other models are out of stock too and the recently introduced linear power supply is unavailable for order currently.

When it arrives however, the packaging and contents instantly hit you as being classy. For something just over a hundred quid, this is excellent value for money. Putting it all together is fairly straightforward. I used a thin mini-ITX mainly so I would have room for other bits. The problem with this was this board does not have SPDIF out. However, I wanted a 3rd party solution anyway. My full height RME AIO PCI Express card doesn't fit but I thought instantly about a HiFace. Marco sent me an extra washer & nut for the HiFace free of charge - what a lovely chap! It didn't quite work out as the nut is slightly too large for the slot but I will eventually find something. The HiFace is connected to an internal USB header.

The instructions are fairly easy to follow but as a newbie doing this, I did get a bit confused about which screws to use where. The only problem I had was one of the copper cooling pipes which I had to trim by 1 cm to fit. However assembly was pretty simple. The main parts of the player are: