crimsondonkey

Virgin's guide to exhibiting at Scalford - or how I learned to play music too loud...

Firstly what a great weekend eh!

Whilst recovering from the exertions (and the alcohol) I thought I would share my own experiences as a first time/ total newbie exhibitor at the Wam show. I'm not entirely sure whether it will prove helpful and encouraging to others, or just put would-be room hosts completely off - I hope it doesn't , but here goes.

So it started months ago...

It suddenly struck me in a flash of courage that I would like nothing more than to lug a car full of stuff to Scalford and subject unsuspecting passers-by to a selection of questionable music in a less than ideal room [check, done that]. Originally the idea was for IanS1 and I to showcase some mainly DIY stuff, so a DDDAC, a Bottlehead 300B preamp and IanS1's modded Sonos box. Anyway as many of you know better than I would, that between signing up and attending, some things ermm tend to change - quite a bit in this case.

By the time Rabski had started putting the draft guide together...

Things had indeed changed. Bottlehead was broken so had bought a Graaf 13.5B2, and the DDDAC wasn't getting as much use as my Modwright Transporter. Within a month of the show and I had now acquired a big pair of Meridian DSP6000's. Even closer to the event I'd also bought an Anti-mode Dual Core 2.0, and the Graaf was not working. So what Ian and I settled on was to offer two different set ups, both digital streaming and both through active speakers. (BTW I do love vinyl and valves and maybe that's something for next year's show). Night before I sat and sorted a playlist which had about 7 hours worth of sounds, and that's not including the tunes on Ian's list.

Saturday 12pm...