psychochicken

Philip Glass

Hi,

I've recently discovered Philip Glass. I somehow always had him categorised as a bit 'avant garde' for me, but as is so often the case when you actually hear the music, it's not what you thought. I am a painter, and my tutor had Akhnaten playing in the studio and I found it marvellous to work to. In fact I named the piece I was working on at the time after a line from Akhnaten.

I've since picked up Akhnaten and a 'best of' on CD and I like what I hear, although not so keen on the stuff that sounds a bit 80's synth....

Any recommendations of recordings/pieces that I should check out?

Thanks!

Neil

My own choices would be the Qatsi trilogy (Koyaanisqatsi, Powaqqatsi and Naqoyqatsi - the movies are good with them too), Music From The Screens (with Foday Musa Suso), the violin concerto (I have Kremer's version, although they say the Telarc recording with McDuffie is excellent). Symphony #2 is also a favourite of mine.

His music played by Uakti (Aguas da Amazonia) is lovely.

Hope this helps as a starting point.

Cheers! The 'essential' is actually the compilation CD I bought, and I have booked tickets to see Koyaanisqatsi being shown with the score performed live by the Philip Glass Ensemble at the Edinburgh festival - looking forward to that!

I will check out the symphony 2 and violin concerto.

Cheers! The 'essential' is actually the compilation CD I bought, and I have booked tickets to see Koyaanisqatsi being shown with the score performed live by the Philip Glass Ensemble at the Edinburgh festival - looking forward to that!

I will check out the symphony 2 and violin concerto.

Excellent! I saw this a few years ago in London. Have you not booked Powaq and Naqoj (they are on the two following evenings I think). Great experience.

Excellent! I saw this a few years ago in London. Have you not booked Powaq and Naqoj (they are on the two following evenings I think). Great experience.