Tim F

Couple of high end interconnects... shoot out

So move on if you don't believe in cables... no point commenting, this isn't a fighting thread! This is my first attempt at a review so be nice :)

I've been running Black Star RCA interconnects and some Missing Link Cryo Reference RCA. 

So RRP's on these are pretty heavy the Black Star was £2400, which is frankly crazy. The Missing Link in the length I have, would be around £700. 

Technology wise

• The Black Star appears to be using some sort of hollow tube, you can see the make up only in their demo video on youtube where it more closely resembles a television aerial cable with a core wire, if I have to explain. This is very different from any cable I've seen made by the usual suspects in Japan. It has RCA connectors that look like nobody else's too. I believe this is a very custom cable, which may partly explain the extremely high initial price. 
  • The Missing Link uses Eichman Silver Bullet  RCA connectors and a pure silver solid core conductor. Claims of how this is different to any high end silver cable you can get appear to be silver purity (not a given on all cables), cryogenic freezing, some proprietary metal heating system and a custom damping system. For reference, you can pick up this type of cable minus the claimed "special" damping and cryogenic freezing and heating for around £400. It is highly likely the silver is sourced from one of the main Japanese companies but I can't confirm. 

Both are treated with Stabilant 22 to make sure there are no poor contacts.  

History

The Black Star has been in the system for 2 months or so, and I know its presentation, so putting something new in becomes easier to detect. I have a very high resolution system. If you don't, frankly I wouldn't bother with interconnects at this price. They are a subtle last change rather than presenting ground breaking differences. Also, the speaker cables I changed had a much bigger impact.  

Sound impressions