Hi there 

I’m still fairly new to the Linn family. 

I curently own a Malik DSM/2 and a lp12. Both second hand. They drive a pair of Malik 140. Brand new. 

I now have the opportunity to bye a second hand Malik 6100 power amp at a reasonable price. 

And now for my question. Is possible to upgrade the DSM and 6100 to active? The two together have 8 channels which should fit my 140s that are a 4-way design. Can I install the 8 active cards needed (6 in the 6100 and 2 in the DSM)?  And how about the speakers. Do they need to be modified for this to work? Or  am I totally wrong?

good summer everybody:-)

cheers 

Jesper - Copenhagen, Denmark 

Activ cards only fit in power amps, not the DSMs. So you'd need 2 4100s, or a 6100 and a 2100 I'm afraid. If you buy new, linn will throw the active cards in for free:

Plus when you buy any Akurate or Majik amp for upgrading to Aktiv, we'll include the Aktiv Cards you need for your particular speakers, at no extra charge.

Your 140s would need converting to Activ (which is a simple thing to do, but you need to know what you're doing).

Do you have the upgrade stands by the way? Well worth it if not ;)

Thanks a lot for the input Timster. 

Do you think I will gain anything worth mentioning by bi- or tri-amping?

and you mention the upgrade stand for the speakers. It that a upgrade I should seriously think about?

57 minutes ago, timster said:

Activ cards only fit in power amps, not the DSMs. 

In the case of Majik DSM I beg to differ. It will hold active cards for two channels. To actively run your M140 you then need to add another six channels, for instance a M6100. 

• Upvote 1

Thanks a lot for the input Timster. 
Do you think I will gain anything worth mentioning by bi- or tri-amping?
and you mention the upgrade stand for the speakers. It that a upgrade I should seriously think about?