newlash09

Wharfdale Linton anniversary speakers

Hi all...

Good evening. 

Just happened to come across these speakers. Very decently priced along with their matching stands . And look lovely too. 

Saw some positive impressions on audiogon discussions, but not many reviews out there.

Was wondering if anyone here heard them. Can they be a cheaper ticket to the harbeth sound by any chance. Thanks :)

I saw these on You Tube where there is a few reviews emerging - I think Tharbamar and Steve Guttenberg

I am very interested in these as they bring back fond memories -I had a set of original Wharfedale Lintons back in the day when I was a student and in my 20's. I rather foolishly gave them away to a friend, but you now see them on ebay for £40-£50 ish

Obviously the latest ones are much improved blah de blah

• Like 1

Super Wammer

It’ll be interesting to see the reviews.  I rather doubt they’ll approach any Harbeth as no Wharfedale I ever heard came close. I think we’ve been fooled by the retro four-legged stands that look quite a bit like Harbeth on HiFi Racks stands!  

I had forgotten that Linton were ever a three-way design, when these first appeared, as I only remembered the two-way model with similar drivers to the Denton.  But I found the other version eventually!  

Wharfedale never followed BBC design ideas or studio usage that I recall.  They were more like the position that Q Acoustics hold today - easy to listen to, and domestically acceptable  

• Like 1

Super Wammer

From the 1974 HiFi Yearbook, with a whopping 20 watt power handling!  The version I remember best.  Not great!D5DAA1B0-7D06-4004-8CFA-705C52F1946B.thumb.jpeg.bdbc909fb9e8920cde27cf799f105fed.jpeg

Super Wammer

I think they were playing at bristol this year and very good they were too

• Like 1

Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, Nopiano said: