The site will be out of service again for further upgrades regarding security fixes. Work will be carried out between 4.30am and 5.30am tomorrow morning. We apologise for the inconvenience.

Sign in to follow this  
Amormusic

NAS me peeps!

Hi folks,

If there’s already a stream for this, then apologies, please link me..

I’ve just bought a CA CXN which arrives in a few days... Hopefully a very decent upgrade from the Chromecast Audio...

I primarily stream Spotify premium, hence my upgrade streamer purchase, however I also own a ridiculous amount of CDs...

I want to Flac these all, get them onto a NAS drive and then have everything at my fingertips. 

What NAS is good vfm, what software do I need and how easy is this? I am a tech dumbass so sorry if this is dumb question!!

Thanks in advance!

• Like 1

If you only want to use the NAS drive for serving audio files to your streamer then the Synology j-series is fine. I use one with Minimserver - freeware/donationware DLNA server software that sits on the NAS drive and allows you to browse your music collection to find the music you want to play.

I think there is a free CA app for controlling your streamer - others may know more about this.

Setting all of this up is just a matter of following the instructions - no special technical knowledge required.

Edited by bobovox
  • Upvote 1

1 minute ago, bobovox said:

If you only want to use the NAS drive for serving audio files to your streamer then the Synology j-series is fine. I use one with Minimserver - freeware/donationware DLNA server software that sits on the NAS drive and allows you to browse your music collection to find the music you want to play.

Setting all of this up is just a matter of following the instructions - no special technical knowledge required.