Sign in to follow this  
Tintinabulum

Capacitor Tolerance

I'm a newb. I'm recapping some old amp boards in an active speaker. I'm doing this because they are old, it's a bit of fun and I don't know any better. I've treated myself to a cheap piece of plastic which measures capacitors, seems to function OK having checked random capacitors, new and old and looks "functional". In all this I'm wondering what tolerance is acceptable or designed in for in amp boards. Looking at spec, tolerance can be + - 20%. Is that real or just what they say? Using my plastometer, should I be concerned about say 10% off? Being a newb, I'm also receptive to hints and tips...

Re caping is one of those mythical audio things people like to do. Yes electrolytic capacitors get old and dry out and go high impedance, yes paper in oil go leaky, yes some film caps of a certain age can do strange things, this is from my limited experience.

Anyway maybe it's cooler in the UK and they last longer. Tolerance on caps are not very good, especially electrolytics.

When describing test equipment it is nice to know make model. I have one that was £16,(probably a close relative of  "LCR-T4 Component Tester Kit 9V with 12864 Green Back light LCD Display" on ebay) and it is very good but not very accurate on passives, I notice there is no tolerance Spec'ed on the above. Buy a few 1% caps and check its accuracy of you don't trust it.

The board should be designed for the components on it(unless it's been messed with). If that is +-20% or even +80-20 then so be it, and unless there is other reason to suspect problems caps falling inside that range don't need changing, although you may wish to of course
You need to replace with same value, tolerances within the acceptable range, and same or higher voltage. It also helps/ may be essential to replace caps with new ones of the same constructional type (electrolytic, mica, film &c) and orientation if polarised.