The site will be out of service again for further upgrades regarding security fixes. Work will be carried out between 4.30am and 5.30am tomorrow morning. We apologise for the inconvenience.

Thetiminator

Rolling power amp input valves - is it worth it?

Hi everyone 

I’m new to valve amplifiers having just got myself a pair of Transcendent Sound Pinnacle OTL amps - which are truly superb by the way. A dealer friend of mine sent me a very expensive Kondo 300B amplifier to test but the Pinnacles spanked the Kondo’s bottom in every area. 

Anyhoo, there are 2 x JJ 803’s and one JJ802’s in each amp driving 4 x EH Gold Grid 300B’s. Question is how much do they input valves contribute to the sound and would it be worth trying a couple of different brands?

Definitely worth a try. Arguably trying different signal valves is worth more than trying different output valves.

Slightly puzzled by your 'labelling' - as you will know, or shortly find out, there are equivalent valves with differing letters and numbers (usually depending on the intended market (USA or Europe).

ECC802 are 12Au7; and ECC83 (803?) are 12Ax7. These are the 2 most common in the smaller valve before the bigger bottled 6SN7 etc...

The main criterion to bear in mind is whether the valves are NOS (new old stock, ie., unused vintage valve) or a modern (or current) production (your JJs).

You missed some glorious Phillips mini watt and Bugle Boys in the classifieds by a whisker, but they were a bit special, and you really only need to pay £20-30 a throw. The 2 of the same number should be matched.

My advice is to have some fun exploring the internet for valve reviews, (but bear in mind different valves suit different amps more or less) draw up a short list and do a wanted ad in the classifieds.

I had some good results with RCA red tops but your amp might suit something different.

An OTL is a bold choice for a first venture into valves..