Mikeyn

Advice Needed

Hi everyone,

I recently became the owner of a set of KEF 205.2's. I have been running Arcam alpha 8 integrated (Running front treble) Alpha 8 power amp (running Base), old Yamaha for 6 channel av.(Running surround and sub woofer)

I have bought a new ex demo Arcam A49 which will soon arrive.

What is the best thing to do? Is it to run the front speakers of the A49 and get rid of the Alpha's?

Or should i utilise either of the old amps in any way?

I ask because I will have to wait before I can invest in a C49 & P49

Mikeyn

I am a novice

I used to own the 205/2s and have heard the A49 many times....mostly with the New Refs....but also with the 203/2s. It's a really good amp, with a Class A "feel" to the sound.

My advise would be to use the A49 to run the front speakers......and suspect that you will not feel the need to upgrade to the C49/P49.

One thing to bear in mind, with components of this level of transparency......is the quality of your Source.

What Source are you currently using?

I have always found a Linn DS works very well, with A49 and Kef Ref.

BTW. Welcome to the mayhem. 

Edited by CnoEvil

I think @CnoEvil has summed it up pretty well. Although the KEF’s impedance does drop fairly low, on paper the A49 should have plenty of grunt for them. 

@TheFlash is the forums resident Arcam fanboy, hopefully he’ll see this thread (he has the A49) and give some input.

As a former owner of several items from the Arcam Alpha series, I do find it funny that most end up Bi-amping, although in my experience it made absolutely no difference.

Super Wammer
30 minutes ago, Blackmetalboon said:

I think @CnoEvil has summed it up pretty well. Although the KEF’s impedance does drop fairly low, on paper the A49 should have plenty of grunt for them. 

@TheFlash is the forums resident Arcam fanboy, hopefully he’ll see this thread (he has the A49) and give some input.