rockmeister

bird photography help required

Chaps. I'm a landscape photographer by inclination. Things that move far off are foreign to me so...I recently joined a Golden Eagle watch project here in Scotland and am being encouraged to takes some pics. HELP!

I really can't see how the D610 will be of use, even if I could buy a massive lens for it (which I cant afford) so maybe the Olympus OM10 with it's 2X crop factor? I can afford a 300mm (so 600 in real money) for this. Would that be enough with a simple not very advanced focus tracking system???

I need a D500 and long zoom but the damned numbers didn't come up again.

All serious advice on what might (quite cheaply) produce publishable images of distant eagles in flight most welcomed.

The Olympus with a 300mm lens should be fine for photographing birds as big as eagles. Especially if you are trying to show some of the habitat and not particularly aiming to get a frame filling shot of the bird.

I can't help with lens ideas for the Oly but if your budget stretches to it the Sigma 150-600mm Contemporary would be a good match for your Nikon D610 - there's one for sale on MPB at the moment for £534. 

• Like 1

Thanks. I've seen them once so far..I suppose they were half a mile away and about the size of a thumbnail, frame filling is a dream!:) I'll start with the Oly and see where it leads.

Weight is an issue for 3kg of camera is not enticing on a 10 mile walk.

What is a focus tracking system pray? I use a D7100 and Leica 109 both have automatic focusing with manual.

Is it for when one time exposes to the sky to keep track of the earths movement?

Edited by Croma

I believe it's more for things like birds in flight, you focus on the bird and the it then changes focus to keep it in focus. This explains better than I can: https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=focus+tracking&rlz=1C1CHBF_en-GBGB786GB786&oq=focus+tracking&aqs=chrome..0j69i57j0l4.8819j0j8&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

• Like 1