Von Krolock

Classical Club #13 - Elgar and Vaughan Williams

This music , from Britain's two most prominent composers, has been lauded since it was recorded in 1966 - and rightly so, it is wonderful.
The highlight, personally, is the Vaughan Williams Tallis Fantasia - which frankly sends shivers up the spine whenever I hear it.

Barbirolli has great empathy & affinity with this music & the playing is sensitive & expressive. The SQ is exemplary.

The CD issue  has two extra Elgar pieces - Elegy & Sospiri which are entirely suited to the other pieces here.

Image result for english string music elgar

• Like 1

• Like 2

13 hours ago, chris217 said:

I must admit that my initial expectation was that the playing style would be dated and the recording of poor quality, simply by dint of its age. However, the playing still sounds fresh and the recording quality is much better than I expected. Thanks for an interesting find - I especially enjoyed the Elgar (a composer I studied for music A level).

As a follow-on the 1964 Barbirolli recording of Elgar's Dear of Gerontius also has a lot to recommend it; most notably, Janet Baker and Richard Lewis.

It may be over 50 years old but the recording quality is excellent - the Vaughan Williams was recorded in a church & the acoustic qualities of the venue
bring depth & space to the music.
This record should be in every classical collection - it doesn't get much better than this.
Glad you enjoyed it.:)

60s music on LP generally seems to have kept well.  I have several and they are just fine.  I suspect that this is because recording equipment has generally been better than playback.  I have an LP (LvanB's 7th) recently recorded with microphones made in the 1940s would you believe!   

Always good to get a performance recommendation for classics that have been recorded so often that there appears to be too much choice.

16 hours ago, Andrei said: