omsoc

Harbeth 40.1/40.2 vs Spendor SP100/R2

Hi all,

Anybody fancy pointing out the good/bad points of these speakers and their respective sounds?

Cheers,

Cosmo

Super Wammer

Are the SP100 speakers in the same vein as the original S100 ones?

I have no experience of either so can't help, just looking for some speakers with 12" plus bass drivers.

Super Wammer

I have had a pair of Harbeth active 40s here. IME the lowest bass is boomy and uncontrolled. I couldn't find anywhere in the room where the bass was clean. Everything else is super but I couldn't get the bass to be satisfactory.

The BBC speakers for which they are a drop in replacement have the same problem. They have been in use at Scalford for a few years and they sound sublime as long as there is no deep bass.

This is the deal breaker for me.

I haven't heard the Spendors, but they are sufficiently similar in concept for the bass to be similar I would expect.

M40.2 is the best speaker I've ever heard. Ever.

I guess they were in a largish room?

What was the system?

- - - Updated - - -

I have had a pair of Harbeth active 40s here. IME the lowest bass is boomy and uncontrolled. I couldn't find anywhere in the room where the bass was clean. Everything else is super but I couldn't get the bass to be satisfactory.

The BBC speakers for which they are a drop in replacement have the same problem. They have been in use at Scalford for a few years and they sound sublime as long as there is no deep bass.

I haven't heard the Spendors, but they are sufficiently similar in concept for the bass to be similar I would expect.

The active 40s, were they pre 40.1s? I ask as some of the things that some searching has thrown up is that the .1 and on tidied up the lower bass control.

I guess they were in a largish room?

What was the system?

- - - Updated - - -

The active 40s, were they pre 40.1s? I ask as some of the things that some searching has thrown up is that the .1 and on tidied up the lower bass control.