Guest Fergie

Guidance about cartridges for Rega RP3

32 posts in this topic

Although I have no previous experience of Rega equipment I am thinking about getting one of these turntables which replaces the P3 - 24 model. After reading up a bit about it and the P3 there seems to be a diversity of opinion as to the Rega cartridges with some people saying that they are the weak point and others that it is the ideal combination i.e. the Elys 2 which is normally fitted. I hope to get a demo soon but am wondering if a better option might be to have an Ortofon 2M Blue or an Ortofon OM 20. The reasons for considering a Rega TT are that they appear to be good quality, have a solid reputation and believed to represent excellent value for money in their price ranges.

What do you wammers think and any other suggestions would be gratefully received? Many thanks.

Fergie

If you are moving away from Rega cartridges, you will need a 2mm 3 point spacer as the cartridges which no doubt that will be recommended will be taller in the cartridge body....

Dynavector 10x5

Goldring 1042

Ortofon 2m Red

All the above have a good reputation working with the Rega arms. Obviously budget/phonostage dependent of course :^

the dl110 works very well on the Rega's. The only Rega MM I would suggest would be the exact. It really depends on the phono stage you have.

How much are you planning to spend on the Rega turntable? Have you considered something pre-owned?

I could probably save a bit of money by looking for something pre-owned but I'm not well enough versed in the black arts of setting up a TT and just want to hear a proper demo from my local dealer and get him to set it all up for me. Budgeting a max of 600 quid for TT and cartridge.

I'm sure there are a few people on the forum who could help you out getting a turntable and setting it up. Maybe post something in the classifieds and see if something interesting comes up.