beckypumps

Mountain bikes

108 posts in this topic

I was wondering if anyone in here has a mountain bike. If so how about posting your fav trail after all it is a mountain bike and hifi support network. I tend to do the FC ones in Scotland e.g. Carron Valley / Glen Tres / Learnie red rocks etc

I should add that i'm quite new to the sport but find it quite addictive.

Cheers BP

I have a Rockhopper pro '11.

Just got back in to the sport after a 10 year absence.

Favourite trails are varied, Ashton Court near Bristol has a couple of miles of purpose built trails which are great for honing skills.

Cwmcarn is also not too far and very good fun, as if Forest of Dean.

I'll hopefully be looking for a full suss bike next year.

Tell you what, this reminds me that I must buy some new off-road tyres - I have an old but trusty Marin Bear Valley but stuck some Conti road tyres on about 4 years ago as I was then only using it on roads, and have hardly used it at all in the last 2 years apart from tootling down the road to the pub :oops:. Really must dust the thing down and get back on some muddy tracks.

still got conti's on my treasured db titanium,a brill ride,never to be parted with,

i'm only half hours drive to the north cotswolds, plenty of trails and dont forget to

mention cafe stops on the way, i feel a thread coming on.

makes me wanna get the bike out (claude butler cape wrath d27 with hope discs). or, crazier still, rebuild the full sus (mid 90's Mountain Cycle San Andreas :love:)

used to ride in dalby forest a lot. since those days they have put a lot of work into the trails, and it's a great place to go now. (not ridden it, but been for a look)

presently have 2 sets of wheels for the CB, the shimanos they came with (no idea of the tyres...) and a set of hope/mavics with schwable semi slicks for road use (the hopes came from the san andreas)

I've got a Cannondale F900 hardtail with Lefty fork, and Specialized FSR Epic XC susser.