Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Sumdumgi

Can someone give me an explanation of this please

98 posts in this topic

I'm not an engineer and my technical prowess is limited to opening bottles of beer & wine.

In layman's terms what do these tech specs for an interconnect tell you ?

IC 1

• Resistance (Ohms/m @ 20°C) : 0.044
    Capacitance (pF/m) : 61.14
    Inductance (µH/m @ 1 kHz) : 0.401

IC2

• Resistance (Ohms/m @ 20°C) : 0.0266
    Capacitance (pF/m) : 71.90
    Inductance (µH/m @ 1 kHz) : 0.416

Thanks

SDG

Dannish wrote:

It tells you that cables that measure different sound the same. Don't they;-)?

I knew I'd get that response from someone :D

Had my fair share of foo over the years and just wanting to clarify what the specs on the box mean.

To me, the specs mean that the quoted values are so low that no perceivable difference in sound could be down to the effects on source or amplifier of resistance, capacitance or inductance.

rabski wrote:

To me, the specs mean that the quoted values are so low that no perceivable difference in sound could be down to the effects on source or amplifier of resistance, capacitance or inductance.

So, in essence, the cable raw materials and method of manufacture produce a difference in specification so negligible that the output signal to the amplifier would be identical ?

As a matter of interest one is a silver/copper mix, the other all copper.

Sumdumgi wrote:

rabski wrote:

So, in essence, the cable raw materials and method of manufacture produce a difference in specification so negligible that the output signal to the amplifier would be identical ?