• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Dik Dolan

Hifi collective amp kit

28 posts in this topic

I just started building a hifi collective 300b SET amp kit, here is a work in progress pic

dcp00252gt.th.jpg

I start on the solder sniffing part tomorrow, wish me luck=)

Thanks=)

It is designed by Andy Grove, so there is an audionote connection I guess. It really is a great kit, casework is very nicely finished, transformers weigh 5 kg each.... it's making me sweat moving it around to work on it now:shock:

Andy Groves . what a designer . Anyone remeber the Onkarus monos he made.

lilolee wrote:

You may want to pop over to http://www.world-designs.co.uk/forum/as a couple of guys over there have already built this.

Thanks, I'm already a registered lurker there.

So far it's going together well, but much slower than I first estimated.... this is my first project that uses tagstrips and hardwiring.... requires more thinking than I am used to :shock:

http://img241.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dcp00288qd.jpg

Thanks Kiang.

It is mostly solid core silver plated teflon covered wire, and yep I agree it still needs tidying up, it's not quite finished yet, still a little more wiring to do andno cable ties used yet=) Some wires I have left deliberately long for now, like the ones from the transformers to the tag boards. I will leave 'em like that untilI start on the upgrades..makes changing stuff easierI think, and hopefully wont induce too much hum... we'll see...

Soldering iron is a cheapy maplins 25w job. As soon as I finish this coffee I'll get to it,I want to hear it sing today!